Auditor General's Office.—This Office originated in 1878 (SC 1878, c. 7) and currently functions under the Financial Administration Act (RSC 1952, c. 116). The Auditor General is responsible for examining accounts relating to the Consolidated Revenue Fund and to public property, and for reporting annually to the House of Commons the results of his examinations. He also audits the accounts of various Crown corporations and other instrumentalities.

**Board of Broadcast Governors.**—This Board, established under the provisions of the Broadcasting Act which was assented to on Sept. 6, 1958, is given authority to regulate radio and television broadcasting in Canada. The Board has authority to regulate the establishment and operation of both public and private broadcasting stations and networks of stations. Applications for licences to establish new broadcasting stations, for changes in the facilities of existing stations or for changes in the ownership or in the share structure of licensees are referred to the Board by the Minister of Transport for a recommendation before being dealt with. The Board has three full-time and twelve part-time members. The Secretary of State acts as spokesman for the Board in the Cabinet and the House of Commons.

**Board of Grain Commissioners.**—Constituted in 1912 under the Canada Grain Act (RSC 1952, c. 25), the Board of Grain Commissioners for Canada provides general supervision over the physical handling of grain in Canada by licensing elevator operators, inspecting and weighing grain received at and shipped from terminal elevators, and other services. The Board, comprising a Chief Commissioner and two Commissioners, has authority to inquire into any matter relating to the grading and weighing of grain, deductions for dockage or shrinkage, deterioration of any grain during storage or treatment, unfair or discriminatory operation of a grain elevator, etc. The Board publishes its regulations in the *Canada Gazette* and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Agriculture.

**Canada Emergency Measures Organization.**—This Organization was established in June 1957 to co-ordinate civil emergency planning at the federal level. Reassignments of responsibilities in this field were made by Order in Council in 1959, 1963 and 1965. In the latter year, previous Orders were revoked and replaced by the Civil Emergency Measures Planning Order PC 1965-1041, which schedules civil emergency powers, duties and functions to 12 federal departments and four agencies, under the Minister of Defence Production, to whom this responsibility had been transferred in 1963. The Planning Order directs that the Minister, through the Emergency Measures Organization, shall develop policies and a program to ensure continuity of government in an emergency; co-ordinate civil emergency planning and training by departments and agencies of the Government of Canada; plan, in conjunction with provincial authorities, for the control of civil road transport in an emergency; plan civil emergency measures in respect to matters which are not the responsibility of any department, agency or Crown corporation of the Government; provide assistance and guidance to provincial and municipal governments in civil emergency planning matters; provide general liaison with other countries and with NATO on matters relating to civil Defence College (since renamed Canadian Emergency Measures College). In February 1966, the Government delegated to the Minister, through the Canada Emergency Measures Organization, responsibility for providing and co-ordinating the initial federal response to any peacetime disaster situation whether the Federal Government was either directly involved or called upon for assistance by provinces or municipalities.

**Canadian Government Printing Bureau.**—The printing functions formerly provided by the Department of Public Printing and Stationery were transferred by Order in Council (PC 1963-1254) dated Aug. 21, 1963, to the Department of Defence Production. The latter Department, on Apr. 1, 1964, authorized the organization of the Canadian Government Printing Bureau as a distinct function under that Department, to be separated from the former Publications Branch and the Purchasing Stationery and Stores Branch of the Department of Public Printing and Stationery.

The Canadian Government Printing Bureau, under the direction of a General Manager who reports to the Deputy Minister of Defence Production, provides a variety of printing services, such as House of Commons Debates, Votes and Proceedings, Orders of the Day and other parliamentary papers for both Houses of Parliament, and other printing requirements of government departments and agencies. All official documents are printed in English and French. The main plant, located in Hull, Que., is the largest diversified printing shop in Canada, and includes composition, varitype, letterpress, offset press, proofroom and bindery. These production facilities are complemented by Plant Engineering, Research and Industrial Engineering, Industrial Relations, and Financial Services. Smaller field units, supervised by the Production Manager (Outside Plants), handle the duplicating and short-run requirements of individual departments. These units are located throughout the Ottawa area and in major Canadian cities and National Defence establishments across the country.

**Canadian Penitentiary Service.**—The Penitentiary Service operates under the Penitentiary Act (SC 1960-61, c. 53) and is under the jurisdiction of the Solicitor General of Canada. It is responsible for all federal penitentiary institutions and for the care and training of persons sentenced or committed thereto. The Commissioner of Penitentiaries, under the direction of the Solicitor General, has control and management of the Service and all matters connected therewith.